A closer look at Manchester City’s record winning run

Manchester City’s record-breaking winning run ended at 18 games with Sunday’s goalless draw against Crystal Palace.

Here Press Association Sport reviews the sequence.

Bournemouth 1 Manchester City 2, August 26

A closer look at Manchester City’s record winning run PLZ Soccer
Raheem Sterling celebrates after sparking City’s winning run (Steven Paston/PA)

Raheem Sterling’s late goal proved decisive after Gabriel Jesus cancelled out Charlie Daniels’ stunner. Sterling was sent off amid wild celebrations.

Manchester City 5 Liverpool 0, September 9

Sergio Aguero put City ahead before Liverpool’s Sadio Mane was sent off and Jesus and Leroy Sane scored twice apiece.

Watford 0 Manchester City 6, September 16

Aguero’s hat-trick helped City go one better the following week, with Jesus, Nicolas Otamendi and Sterling also on target.

Manchester City 5 Crystal Palace 0, September 23

Sane opened the floodgates just before half-time and Sterling, twice, Aguero and Fabian Delph scored in the second period.

Chelsea 0 Manchester City 1, September 30

Chelsea slowed City’s free-scoring form but were beaten by Kevin De Bruyne’s 67th-minute goal.

Manchester City 7 Stoke 2, October 14

Jesus scored twice, with one apiece for Sterling, David Silva, Fernandinho, Sane and Bernardo Silva.

Manchester City 3 Burnley 0, October 21

Aguero’s penalty and goals from Otamendi and Sane kept the run going.

West Brom 2 Manchester City 3, October 28

Sane’s goal was cancelled out by Jay Rodriguez but Fernandinho and Sterling secured victory despite Matt Phillips’ late goal.

Manchester City 3 Arsenal 1, November 5

De Bruyne and an Aguero penalty put City in control and, although Alexandre Lacazette pulled one back, Jesus made the game safe.

Leicester 0 Manchester City 2, November 18

Jesus and De Bruyne did the damage in a five-minute period either side of half-time.

Huddersfield 1 Manchester City 2, November 26

Otamendi’s own goal put Town in front but Aguero scored from the spot and Sterling grabbed a freakish 84th-minute winner after Jesus’ shot was parried on to him.

Manchester City 2 Southampton 1, November 29

Sterling curled home brilliantly deep in stoppage time after De Bruyne’s opener was cancelled out by Oriol Romeu.

Manchester City 2 West Ham 1, December 3

Angelo Ogbonna put the Hammers ahead but Otamendi levelled and David Silva volleyed an 83rd-minute winner.

Manchester United 1 Manchester City 2, December 10

City were deserving derby victors as Otamendi was gifted the winner after David Silva’s opener was cancelled out by Marcus Rashford.

Swansea 0 Manchester City 4, December 13

David Silva kept his scoring run going with a brace and De Bruyne and Aguero also netted to take City past Arsenal’s previous record of 14 wins.

Manchester City 4 Tottenham 1, December 16

Ilkay Gundogan’s first goal of the season set City on their way, the inspirational De Bruyne adding the second before Sterling’s late brace. Christian Eriksen scored Spurs’ consolation.

Manchester City 4 Bournemouth 0, December 23

Two goals from Aguero and one apiece for Sterling and Danilo kept the run going.

Newcastle 0 Manchester City 1, December 27

The Magpies defended stoutly but Sterling’s 31st-minute goal was enough for City.

Facts and figures

:: City scored 58 goals in their 18 wins, conceding just 11.

:: In their four games in September they scored 17 without reply.

A closer look at Manchester City’s record winning run PLZ Soccer
Raheem Sterling, centre, and Sergio Aguero, left, lead the goalscorers (Steven Paston/PA)

:: Twelve different players scored for City during their winning run. Sterling led the way with 12 goals, Aguero adding 11.

:: Guardiola used 22 different players in the run, with De Bruyne and Ederson starting every game.

No Comments

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.