Longest winning runs in the Premier League

Crystal Palace ended Manchester City’s record winning run in English football at 18 games with a goalless draw on Sunday.

Here Press Association Sport looks at how Pep Guardiola’s side stack up against the Premier League’s longest previous winning runs.

18 wins

Manchester City, August-December 2017

After a last-gasp win over Bournemouth, City scored 17 goals without reply in September’s fixtures against Liverpool, Watford, Crystal Palace and Chelsea, beat Stoke 7-2 and rolled on until New Year’s Eve, when they drew a blank at Palace and could even have lost as Luka Milivojevic had a late penalty saved.

14 wins

Arsenal, February-August 2002

Arsene Wenger’s side finished their 2001-02 title-winning campaign with 13 successive wins and then beat Birmingham 2-0 in the opening game of the next, before a 2-2 draw with West Ham ended the run.

13 wins

Chelsea, October-December 2016

After a slow start, Antonio Conte’s Blues found their stride with wins over Hull and Leicester. A statement 4-0 thumping of Jose Mourinho’s Manchester United, a 5-0 rout of Everton and victories against Tottenham and City and provided the highlights of the eventual champions’ run, ended by Spurs in their first game of 2017.

12 wins

Manchester United, March-August 2000

Longest winning runs in the Premier League PLZ Soccer
West Ham fell victim to Manchester United and Paul Scholes (Paul Barker/PA)

United won the 1999-2000 title by a thumping 18-point margin, rounding off the season with 11 straight wins and scoring 37 goals in the process – the run included 4-0 wins over Bradford and Sunderland, a 4-3 success at Middlesbrough and a 7-1 dismissal of West Ham featuring a Paul Scholes hat-trick. They resumed with a 2-0 win over Newcastle before drawing 1-1 against Ipswich.

11 wins

Chelsea, April-September 2009

Guus Hiddink’s first spell as the Blues’ interim manager ended – in league terms at least – with five straight wins and Carlo Ancelotti opened up with six to establish the club record since broken by Conte’s side. The 11-match run was surprisingly ended by Wigan with the help of Petr Cech’s dismissal and goals from Titus Bramble, Hugo Rodallega and Paul Scharner. Regardless, Chelsea went on to win the league and FA Cup double.

Manchester United, December 2008-March 2009

Following United’s return from the Club World Cup and against the backdrop of the memorable press conference at which Rafael Benitez, then manager of title rivals Liverpool, read out his list of “facts”, the Red Devils won 11 in a row. Liverpool themselves ended the run by winning 4-1 at Old Trafford but Sir Alex Ferguson’s men beat them to the title by four points.

Liverpool, February-April 2014

Liverpool’s title challenge was powered by the club’s longest winning run in the Premier League, which brought 38 goals for a free-flowing side fronted by Luis Suarez. It was memorably ended by defeat to Chelsea after Steven Gerrard’s unfortunate slip before they capitulated from 3-0 up to draw with Crystal Palace.

Manchester City, April-September 2015

City’s previous best run came as they finished Premier League runners-up to Chelsea despite winning their final six games of the 2014-15 campaign. They opened the next season with five more before West Ham put a stop to their run.

No Comments

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.