Latest NewsWorld

Golden Boot winners and World Cup winners

By July 4, 2018No Comments

Only three Golden Boot winners have been on World Cup-winning sides in the last 10 tournaments.

Harry Kane is on course to win the Golden Boot at the 2018 tournament as he has now scored six goals, with Belgium’s Romelu Lukaku, his nearest rival still in the tournament, on four.

Here, Press Association Sport looks at three Golden Boot winners who also tasted World Cup success.

Mario Kempes (Argentina, 1978)

#tbt mis mejores años!!

A post shared by Mario Kempes (@mario.kempes78) on May 29, 2015 at 4:35am PDT

The long-haired Kempes became a national hero as Argentina won the World Cup on home soil in 1978. Kempes failed to score in the initial group stage, but braces against Poland and Peru helped Argentina in to the final. He then scored twice in the 3-1 final victory over Holland to make it six goals – one clear of Rob Rensenbrink and Teofilo Cubillas – and also won the Golden Ball for the player of the tournament.

Paolo Rossi (Italy, 1982)

Italy were World Cup outsiders in 1982 after scrambling through the first group stage, but Rossi’s hat-trick eliminated favourites Brazil and there was no stopping the Azzurri after that. Rossi scored both goals in the 2-0 semi-final win over Poland and claimed the first in the 3-1 final win over West Germany. His six-goal haul saw him finish one ahead of Karl-Heinz Rummenigge as he also took home the Golden Ball.

Ronaldo (Brazil, 2002)

Golden Boot winners and World Cup winners PLZ Soccer
Brazil striker Ronaldo (right) celebrates scoring one of his eight goals at the 2002 World Cup (Nick Potts/PA)

Ronaldo had missed Brazil’s entire World Cup qualification campaign after rupturing the cruciate ligament in his right knee in April 2000. But he was on fire in Japan and South Africa with four goals in the group stage and two more in last 16 and semi-finals wins. Ronaldo scored twice in the 2-0 final victory over Germany to make it eight goals for the tournament. But it was not enough to win the Golden Ball, which went to Germany goalkeeper Oliver Kahn.