fbpx Skip to main content

Jude Bellingham’s dazzling performance in England’s 3-1 victory at Hampden this week is the latest piece of evidence used by fans and pundits to support claims that the Real Madrid youngster has already achieved ‘world class’ status.

The Los Blancos star is one of three England players nominated for the 2023 Ballon D’or, prompting PLZ Soccer journalists Peter Martin, Hugh MacDonald, Tam Cowan and special guest Stephen McGowan to discuss how many English players can be truly labelled as ‘world class’.

In no particular order, here is who made their list:

  • Bobby Charlton 

Bobby Charlton was part of the England team that won the World Cup in 1966 before winning both the European Cup and the Ballon D’or within the next two years.

  • Kevin Keegan

The two-time Ballon D’or winner won the European Cup with Liverpool as well as four league titles across his club career in England and Germany.

  • Paul Gascogine

‘Gazza’ is regarded as one of the greatest English players of all-time. He is remembered by England fans for his significant contributions during their UEFA Euro 1996 campaign.

  • Wayne Rooney

Wayne Rooney is Manchester United’s all-time leading top goal-scorer and previously held the same record for England for eight years. He is England’s most-capped outfield player of all time and boasts an impressive trophy haul including five Premier League titles and one UEFA Champions League.

  • David Beckham

David Beckham was one of the greatest English players of his generation. He won six league titles and one UEFA Champions League with Manchester United as well as playing for Real Madrid’s famous ‘Galacticos’.

  • Bobby Moore

Widely regarded as West Ham United’s greatest ever player, Bobby Moore will always be remembered as the captain of England’s famous 1966 World Cup winning team.

  • Jimmy Greaves

Jimmy Greaves holds the record for the most number of goals in English top-flight history and was part of the 1966 World Cup winning team. He is regarded as one of the nation’s greatest ever strikers.

  • Gordon Banks

Arguably England’s best ever goalkeeper, Gordon Banks was key to his nation’s success at the 1966 World Cup.

  • Alan Shearer

Alan Shearer is the Premier League’s all-time leading top scorer and was part of the famous Blackburn Rovers side that won the league title in 1995.

  • Harry Kane

Harry Kane is both Tottenham Hotspur and England’s all-time leading top goal-scorer and only Alan Shearer has netted more goals in the Premier League than he has.

  • Duncan Edwards

Duncan Edwards was one of Manchester United’s ‘Busby Babes’ and was hailed as one of England’s best players by the likes of Bobby Charlton before he tragically died during the Munich Air Disaster at the age of 21.

  • Peter Shilton

The goalkeeper is England’s record appearance holder and has made more competitive appearances in professional football than any other player in history.

  • Glenn Hoddle

Glenn Hoddle was one of the most exciting English players of his generation and was inducted into the English Football Hall of Fame in 2007.