Latest News

Revealed: Player of the year nominees

By April 21, 2016No Comments

By Craig Turnbull

Rangers and Hibernian have dominated the shortlist for the PFA Scottish Championship Player of the Year award.

Mark Warburton’s men clinched the title earlier in April and have captain Lee Wallace and prolific striker Martyn Waghorn up for the accolade.

Hibernian hitman Jason Cummings and the impressive midfielder John McGinn have also been nominated by their peers.

Waghorn, in his first season with Rangers, netted 20 goals in the Championship before suffering a knee injury at Rugby Park against Kilmarnock in the Scottish Cup which has ruled him out since February.

Wallace has led by example in the Rangers jersey having played in every league game and has seven goals and 10 assists to his name from full-back position.

Cummings has spearheaded Hibs’ promotion push, with Wednesday’s goal against Rangers taking his tally to 17 league goals this season and his eighth versus Rangers in 10 games.

It has been a fantastic season for McGinn who has come of age in the Hibernian midfield which earned him a first-time call-up to Scotland where he produced a man-of-the-match display against Denmark.

The winner will be unveiled on May 1 at an awards dinner in Glasgow. Former Hibs midfielder Scott Allan won it last year.

Meanwhile in League One, the champions Dunfermline have two players up for the award in the form of Joe Cardle and Faissal el Bakhtaoui. El Bakhtaoui, whose contract is up this summer, has scored 30 goals for the Pars this season.

Three-time winner of the award Rory McAlister of Peterhead is also nominated as is Cowdenbeath striker Greig Spence.

League Two winners East Fife have two nominations with Falkirk-bound Nathan Austin and Kyle Wilkie being shortlisted as are last year’s winner Bobby Linn of Arbroath and Annan’s Peter Weatherston.

Leave a Reply