fbpx Skip to main content
EuropeanLatest News

Who are the 2015 Ballon d’Or nominees?

By October 20, 2015No Comments

Cristiano Ronaldo, Lionel Messi, Luis Suarez and Neymar are the favourites for the 2015 Ballon d’Or award.

Ronaldo, who has won the prestigious accolade for the last two years, is hoping to catch Barcelona star Messi who has won it four times.

Ronaldo is joined by Real Madrid team-mates Gareth Bale, Karim Benzema, Toni Kroos and James Rodriguez.

[poll id=”4″]

La Liga rivals Barcelona have six candidates up for the award – the most of any team which has any representatives. Messi, Neymar and Suarez are joined by Andres Iniesta, Javier Mascherano and Ivan Rakitic.

Pep Guardiola’s Bundesliga champions Bayern Munich have five players shortlisted with in-form striker Robert Lewandowski, Thomas Muller, Manuel Neuer, Arjen Robben and Arturo Vidal – though the Chilean played for Juventus until his summer switch from Turin.

Juve have just one nominee in the form of France international Paul Pogba, who was heavily linked with a move to the Premier League.

Manchester City’s summer signing Kevin De Bruyne makes the list alongside team-mates Sergio Aguero and Yaya Toure. Arsenal’s Alexis Sanchez and Chelsea’s Eden Hazard complete the representatives from England’s top flight.

Across the channel to France, Paris Saint-Germain’s Zlatan Ibrahimovic makes up the final place in the 23-man list.

In the Coach of the Year category Barcelona’s treble-winning coach Luis Enrique has been nominated alongside Bayern Munich’s Guardiola, Arsenal boss Arsene Wenger and Chelsea’s Jose Mourinho.

Jorge Sampaoli, who led Chile to Copa America triumph, is on the 10-man shortlist as is Unai Emery, Massimiliano Allegri (Juventus), Laurent Blanc (PSG), Carlo Ancelotti (ex-Real Madrid) and Diego Simeone (Atletico Madrid)

Voting will be cast by managers and captains of each national team and media representatives from each country.

The winner will be announced on January 11, 2016.