Latest News

SPFL clubs await their fate

By May 26, 2016No Comments

SPFL clubs await their fate as the draw for the new revamped Betfred League Cup takes place on Friday.

The 38 SPFL clubs plus Highland League and Lowland League entrants – Cove Rangers and East Stirling (after losing play-off to Edinburgh City who will also be included) – will be put into eight groups of five with the draw split into north and south regions.

Celtic, Hibernian, Aberdeen and Hearts are the only four SPFL clubs to be given a bye into the next stage of the competition to avoid clashes with European fixtures.

SPFL clubs await their fate PLZ Soccer

In the North Section Pot 1: St Johnstone, Ross County, Inverness CT and Dundee are all top seeds.

Dundee United, Falkirk, Raith and Dumbarton are seeded in Pot 2 while the rest are in Pot 3. Each group will have a Pot 1 and Pot 2 side.

The South Section consists of Motherwell, Partick Thistle, Hamilton Accies and Kilmarnock as top seeds. In Pot 2 are Rangers, Morton, St Mirren and Queen of the South, while the rest are in Pot 3

SPFL clubs await their fate PLZ Soccer

Fixtures and TV selections will be announced the week commencing May 30.

In each group teams will play each other once on July 16, 20, 23, 27 and 30. Teams get three points for a win in the group stages if there is a draw then the match goes straight to penalties and the winner of the shoot-out gets a bonus point.

Eight group winners, four best group runners-up and four clubs playing in Europe go into the last 16 with the final being held on November 27.

Leave a Reply