Top ten coaches

Chris Coleman and Claudio Ranieri’s historic achievements in 2016 with Wales and Leicester have earned them nominations for the FIFA men’s coach of the year award.

Coleman guided Wales to the semi-finals of the European Championship over the summer in what was only their second major tournament campaign, 58 years after they reached the last eight of the World Cup.

Ranieri oversaw Leicester’s shock surge to the Premier League title last season as they became English top-flight champions for the first time in their history.

The Italian has since led the Foxes to three wins out of three in their maiden Champions League campaign.

There are four Premier League bosses on the 10-man shortlist for the award that was announced on Wednesday, with Ranieri being joined by Manchester City’s Pep Guardiola, Liverpool’s Jurgen Klopp and Tottenham’s Mauricio Pochettino.

Guardiola last term secured the third straight Bundesliga title and second league and cup double of his three-year stint with Bayern Munich before moving on to City, the current Premier League leaders.

Level on points with the Blues are Liverpool, who Klopp got to the finals of both the Europa League and League Cup in 2015-16.

Pochettino’s Spurs pushed Leicester hardest for much of last season’s Premier League title race before finishing third.

Making up the rest of the shortlist are Fernando Santos, Didier Deschamps, Zinedine Zidane, Diego Simeone and Luis Enrique.

Santos’ Portugal beat Deschamps’ France in the Euro 2016 final, Zidane’s Real Madrid – only a few months after his appointment at the Bernabeu – got the better of Simeone’s Atletico Madrid in the Champions League final last season, and Enrique’s Barcelona claimed the LaLiga and Copa del Rey double.

The winner of the award will be chosen via a combined voting process, in which 50 per cent of the decision will be based on the choices of all captains and head coaches of national teams.

The other 50 per cent will be split between the result of an online public ballot with football fans and submissions from a selected group of over 200 media representatives from the six continents.

A reduced list of three nominees will be announced on December 2, with the winner then to be presented with the award on January 9.

No Comments

Post A Comment